Highway 61 Re-Revisited

thanks (and…)

to this man I discovered this RSS must exampled by:

Don’t you just love passionate people? And how it somehow always seems to work out for them. It’s probably one of the reasons why I so thoroughly enjoy Bob Dylan and this album.

I assumed one thing when I started writing all these things on a blog: it’s going to be selfish. Don’t expect anything else but things that I and no one else cares about. Good comics for instance. Not 1 but at least 2 or 3. Expect “advice” you’re not going to like, listen to or in fact give a damn about. It just has to go out there, or at least that’s my feeling about it.

You know, sometimes you just can’t let what you think remain inside the walls of your head. Most of the time it’s not a bad idea, but there’s things in there that could help other people… i guess.

What I’m trying to do most of the time is encourage you, whoever you are, to follow through. Partly, yes, because I am myself in need of such encouragement. Because I know that, without being a quitter, I still need to hear it or to see it written.

I’m puzzled by the fact that you never do hear positive things that aren’t standardized anymore.

I’m an occasional church-goer in fact and most of the time, in spite of the beautiful service, I still hear dozens of complaints, from both God’s staff and the public. The only supposedly motivating things out there are spelled out in steps and processes: how to become successful, how to build a business, how to handle an interview.

Ok, go for those as well, but i know and I hope I’m right, that deep down you are, in fact a human at your most beautiful. You’ve probably just forgotten that your best is more that you ever dream of. That you can shake off the tired off and the daily issues. Hell, even i do it successfully when I have to and I’m currently living well outside both my age and my income. There are just things that have to be done. Not because they happen to you. Nothing happens TO YOU. It is YOU that HAPPENS TO OTHER things. That’s the good way around, the one to live in. Make your own decisions, change them if you must and live up to YOUR STANDARDS. It’s not even as hard as it seems.

If you’re at a low, of course the walls are high. Thing is, your natural position is on your feet, not on your knees. And walls, high as they may be, are still something to cling to, to scratch on, so you can get on your feet. And once you’re there, take a walk, stretch those muscles, start running. The sooner the better, the faster the better, so far as you don’t sprain a muscle.

Life is a constant effort to get better. Live by that. No, it’s not richer, even happier. It’s better.

You don’t have to believe either in God, friendship, or love to accept it. Just in change, evolution, progress, call it what you want. It’s both a Christian and an atheist’s creed. It’s simple and it only hurts because we bang our heads on the fact that real change certainly lacks imminence. It’s conditioned by the persistence of effort and good will. You will, however, never tire from it. That I think I can promise.

Filed under: Pleasant discoveries, To Dos, Words mainly, , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

del.icio.us bookmarks

